Ride Report; First Ride in Adrian Valley and Churchill Narrows

img_20161209_113653

Craggy bluffs above the Churchill Site

This was my third trip out to  Fort Churchill State Park and I am liking it more with each visit. On this trip I wanted to explore Adrian Valley and a feature on the map called the Churchill Narrows. I am looking for various routes into the Pine Nut Mountains and I have traced this route to Churchill Canyon and Como Rd.

20161209_143303_burst01

I seek out these emigrant trail markers

When exploring this route by satellite view I was not impressed with what I saw. Everything was the same shade of Nevada brown and I was not expecting much for scenery. But Nevada did not let me down. The scenery was fantastic with craggy bluffs, eroded canyons, large cottonwoods, and plenty of birds for wildlife viewing.

 

In the first field we crossed we saw a group of male blue birds. I’m not sure I have seen a more brilliant blue outside the tropics. I am thankful for the natural history knowledge Dean brings on our rides. He also identified a marsh hawk. Bird identification is not a skill of mine.

20161209_115134_hdr

Churchill Spring creates a small aquatic oasis in the desert

We came to the Churchill Site and Churchill Spring. It is always amazing to find water in the desert and see the oasis it creates.

20161209_114431_hdr

Against the cliffs we saw a hawk flying about. Unfortunately I do not have a camera or the experience to photograph wildlife. But if you do, Nevada’s  public lands deliver plenty of opportunity to those who seek it.

20161209_123700_pano

Fat and plus size tires make exploring Nevada much easier  

20161209_123614_pano

Before entering the wash

20161209_125215_hdr

Our “trail” for the next few miles

We took a side road to the west along a buried pipeline. Our hope was to find a loop back to the park but we chose to loop back to the Churchill Spring via a boulder strewn wash. The size of the wash really inspired my imagination as to the enormity of the flash floods required to create it.

20161209_143233_hdr

Once back at the park we rode the nature trail to Buckland Station at the intersection of State Highway 95 and the Carson River. It is fantastic that bikes are permitted on the park’s trails. We chatted with a ranger who recommended continuing along the trail following the Carson River downstream along the Carson River Ranches to Lahontan State Recreation Area. Definitely a goal for my next visit to Churchill State Park.

20161209_140818_hdr

Park maintained buildings near Buckland Station

One thought on “Ride Report; First Ride in Adrian Valley and Churchill Narrows

  1. Pingback: Return to Fort Churchill; Ride Report | Bikepacking Northern Nevada

Leave a Reply

